Favorite 5: Push-up Variations

Hey, loves!

I know my posts have been sporadic lately. I’m going through some changes that came as a huge shock to me and I haven’t quite gotten my balance back. Though I want so bad to stay consistent with my posts, I’ve been really needing to spend some time just gathering my thoughts and exercising my mental strength. It has gotten to the point where I am so ready to be in a better over-all situation in life that I just have to listen to my soul’s needs.

When I started blogging April of this year, my husband helped me with most of the photos for my blog. His help aided my ability to stay consistent with the posts. Now, the dream we both have for our lives needs his focus and hands-on work. I don’t want to hault my progress with blog and fitness because of the circumstance so I’m taking this step to find other ways of getting “it” done 🙂


 

Though this blog is pretty much a site that talks about all kinds of things, it is mostly known for fitness. I have been meaning to share this with you guys and there’s no better time than now: My favorite 5 push-up variations.

Please note that I have been training for years. If you are not able to perform all of these exercises, it’s OK–now, you have a new goal to accomplish! 🙂

DISCLAIMER: You should understand that when participating in any exercise or exercise program, there is the possibility of physical injury. If you engage in this exercise or exercise program, you agree that you do so at your own risk, are voluntarily participating in these activities, assume all risk of injury to yourself, and agree to release and discharge Katrina Jean Carter from any and all claims or causes of action, known or unknown, arising out of KatrinaJeanCarter.wordpress.com’s negligence. 

FAVORITE 5: Pushup Variations

  1. Decline Pushups – the movement for this one is very similar to the traditional pushup. The only difference is: your feet is elevated. This puts more weight on your chest and arm muscles and allows more of your abdominal muscles to be involved.
    I like adding this in between my weight lifting exercises or as a burn out at the end. I suggest doing 15-20 in between exercises, or 3 sets of 25-30 seconds if you want to add it in you HIIT workout.
    decline
  2. Single Leg Pushups – again, like the traditional pushup movement–only with one leg. This exercise works your whole upper body, making it a very effective move to use to gain more strength. This pushup variation is actually easier to do than it looks which is a plus! 🙂 I like adding this in between my weight lifting exercises or as a burn out at the end. I suggest doing 10 (each leg) in between exercises, or 3 sets of 10 (each leg).
    single-leg
  3. Pushup Jacks – this exercise will surely get your heart pumping and your fat melting! Very much like the name, it follows the movement of a jumping jack–only, you aren’t standing! This move mostly works your core muscles but also works muscles a regular jumping jack and pushup would: chest, shoulder, hip flexors, calves, and your back. Talk about multi-tasking in fitness! 😉 I like adding this in between my weight lifting exercises or as a burn out at the end. I suggest doing 10-15 in between exercises, or 3 sets of 20-25 seconds if you want to add it in you HIIT workout.
    pjacks
  4. Spiderman Pushups – I feel like a total badass babe when I do this! It predominantly works your chest muscles but also puts a bit of emphasis on your core, hip flexors, lower back, triceps, and quads. I like adding this in between my weight lifting exercises or as a burn out at the end. I suggest doing 10-15 in between exercises, or 3 sets of 20-25 seconds if you want to add it in you HIIT workout.
    spiderman-pushups
  5. Dive Bomber Pushups – this is probably the most challenging among the variations in this list but also my very favorite! The movement looks so graceful and sexy–which to me is just the perfect combo. This move works your chest but also helps strengthen your shoulders, quads, glutes, hamstrings, mid and lower back, and your triceps. I like adding this in between my weight lifting exercises or as a burn out at the end. I suggest doing 5-10 in between exercises, or 3 sets of 20-25 seconds if you want to add it in you HIIT workout.
    dive-bomber


    And there it is, my friends. My favorite 5 pushup variations. Which one do you like best from the list and which one do you wish to improve on? If I didn’t mention your favorite, do share with me below in the comments as well.

    Until next time!
    xoxo,
    14375177_10154683337519750_100825443_o-png

 

 

72 thoughts on “Favorite 5: Push-up Variations

Leave a Reply

