Favorite 5: Equipment To Stay Fit At Home

Hi everyone!

How has your week been going? Mine has been going fast but going well🙂 I feel sooo much better after allotting a couple weeks for deep self-reflections and time off intense physical training.  My short break really helped me gain a better mindset on issues I have been dealing with lately and has given me a fresh sense of joy and hope for life ahead.

I am so happy that despite not training for 2– almost 3 weeks, I was able to maintain pretty well.


I noticed I have been so busy with blog networking that I am falling behind on my scheduled posts. Mostly with the pictures but I had some catching up to do on writing so voila, here I am.

The main aim I have for sharing these fitness wisdom is to help birth some motivation or inspiration within you, my readers. Whether it’s motivation to workout, take care of yourself, or finally start working on your dreams–that is what I wish my posts give you.

Fitness has been ‘seriously’ in my life since I was 18. Most of my training, even today, are done from home. (Read Why I Quit Going To The Gym) Don’t get me wrong, I love the additional services and equipment in the gym, but I absolutely adore the convenience of working out at home.

This post is dedicated to those who want to stay fit at home. I know not everyone has a workout room or a home gym so I am sharing  5 essential equipment you need to stay fit at home. I’ve had more equipment to work with in the past but the ones below are the ones I believe to be basic and necessary as they are multifunctional and do not take up a lot of space.

  1. Yoga Mat
    – Very basic but very needed! I love having an for outdoors and one for indoors. Yoga mats are a necessity as you can perform so many exercises on them and the best part is, it’s light enough to be carried anywhere! (Beach workout? No problem! Park workout? Sure! Yoga a home? Definitely.)
    DSCN0429.jpgREAD: Fvaorite 5: Basic Stretches / Yoga Moves (All you need is a mat!) 
  2. Dumbbells
    – I’ve always been a bar and plate kind of girl but not having enough space to have one since moving to LA made me appreciate dumbbells! Love how I am able to use it to train and strengthen my whole body. From shoulders down to my calves!
    13713496_10154510720319750_689417981_n.jpgREAD: Favorite 5: Chest Exercises that Require No Machine (perfect use for your DB’s!) 
  3. Ankle Weights
    – I have been using ankle weight in my home workouts for about 3 years now. The wonderful thing about these babies is you can wrap them around your arms as well. I especially love using these for a good butt workout. Another great way to use them is to walk around your home with them on for an active rest day!
    13064640_10154352150124750_1693733864177523059_oo.jpgREAD: Favorite 5: Moves Using Ankle Weights 
  4. Stability Ball
    – Never thought I would add this to the list but I have fallen inlove with stability balls! It adds so much variety to my workout routine and helps me strengthen my balance and my core.
    14398108_10154695859404750_585738389_nREAD: Stability Ball + A Week’s Worth of Workouts
  5. Resistance Band
    – A new favorite of mine! Love how this is so versatile and so light that you can literally bring it everywhere. I find this most useful when I am travelling. :) It’s always a major plus when an equipment allows you to work different areas of your body.

    What is your favorite home workout equipment and what do you think I should add to the list? Do let me know in the comments below🙂


60 thoughts on “Favorite 5: Equipment To Stay Fit At Home

  1. I love using my stability ball for workouts. I even sit at one while working at my desk at home. I should invest in ankle weights, too!


  2. Amazing post dear. Keep your great work. We have the same Fitness addicted. I have been falled in love with Fitness/ work out also more than 11 years adjoined since than I can´t live far away.❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. These are great! I always prefer working our at home especially since it’s convenient. You’re definitely going to need dumbbells and a yoga mat. The leg weights are great as well!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m just about to have my first baby and I’m already thinking about what I need to do to get fit and healthy after the birth. I wasn’t particularly healthy before hand but I want to be an active mum. Great article.


  5. I have a resistance band and a stability ball, but I have no idea how to use them (my mom bought them in a rush of motivation for a workout, that she still do not do..)… So far my “workout” is limited only on running, walking and jump rope.


  6. Glad to hear you’re feeling better! Sometimes all we need to be happy and motivated is just to have a break! Home gym is good idea, you look fantastic! I definitely should try all of these exercises!🙂


  7. There’s really no denying that it’s easier to work out at home but it would be tough without the basic must haves! Thanks for the list, I have the yoga mat and the dumbbells, I still need a few other things.


  8. I can’t live without my yoga mat, my dumbbells, my resistance band, and my SB ball. But after reading your post, I would love to have ankle weights, too. I can already visualize all the moves that I would do with them!


  9. I used to be soooooo skinny! Since I’ve had twins I’m all chubbiness. This a good reminder of how desperately I need to get in shape. 🙂


  10. I’m missing the resistance bands and the ankle weights!🙂 Totally agree on the yoga mat and weights!🙂 I love mine and they have gotten so much use over the years! I need to find more ways to use my stability ball though because it’s looking a little dusty!😉 -Erin at http://www.stayathomeyogi.com


  11. Whoa…thanks for the tips. I have been slacking lately in doing exercise. I get easily discouraged when i cant do a lot of things…like doing sit up etc…but i plan to try out again until i get it. Need a lot of determination🙂 thanks soul sister!!


  12. Really inspirational and lots of information to gather from. That resistance bandband is a must have for me.



  13. I probably should get myself some equipment as well, I like to do home workout, but usually I am just going to jogging cuz I don’t have any equipment. Anyways your post reminded me that I haven’t been working out for a while and I truly feel bad for this – but no time for that these days!


  14. I have few of these…. but the problem is i am very lazy to wake up early in the morning. I love doing Yoga and always try to make a discipline… but after a week or so…😦


  15. I picked up exercising this year and I sure love my stability ball
    If I can’t do anything else, I never miss out with it.
    I am trying to make out time and stay committed to other workout practices though🙂


Leave a Reply

