Self-Care Sunday + Awesome Dollar Store Finds

Note: this post was written 2 weeks ago. Anything said below are all thoughts and emotions of days that passed.🙂

Hey guys,

The past few days have been very rocky for me. Depression kept knocking on my door. I felt like I had no time for anything and had to give myself an extra push to get through most of my tasks (even my workouts).

On Saturday, I was feeling an episode come in and I tried my best to stay calm so I went out for a walk. It then reminded me of my promise to give myself a full day of conscious self-love. So I went out, ventured the town for a bit and went to my local 99c store. Not really wanting to buy anything, I strolled around the shop and found this chia infused drink by KINCHIA! My jaw dropped, I looked at the ingredients and was happy to found that I was able to pronounce them all and so I bought it. That’s not everything, however. I also bought myself some dark chocolate, Epsom salt, bubble bath soap, a face mask from nu-pore, and some flowers for my special bath🙂

I can’t believe these were all from the dollar store. I spent a total of $10.70 all to myself and very pleased with what I got.

Treating and taking care of yourself can be very simple and affordable.🙂

I went home to my husband and relaxed the rest of the night with the intention of doing a Self-Care Sunday the next day.

SUNDAY. I originally wanted to go to the park at 7am and do my stretches but I woke up around 3am and stayed up with my husband up until 6:30 am. When my alarm rang, I was soo tired and figured giving myself extra sleep is part of self-love too, so I hit the alarm off. I woke up around 11am, did my stretches from home (the park gets too crowded with kids and families during the day), and made myself a nice brunch🙂 Afterwards, I indulged in a green-tea detox bubble bath.

Stretch was good, brunch was delightful, and my bath felt great🙂

Afterwards, my husband and I decided to treat ourselves to wingstop and a movie.

My day ended well and hoping to do this again. Next time I’ll try to put in extra effort to actually go explore a new place.

PS- One of my fitness goals this year was to master the arm stand. I started in June but haven’t been training consistently for it.. But I’ve been doing what I can to put in work towards this goal and I’m happy to say I am improving on it! I am able to hold the stand for about 20 seconds. Need to work on my balance to keep it up longer as well as doing it without the help or support of a wall nearby.

As seen on Instagram🙂


Did you do anything special for yourself this week? Share them with me on the comments below🙂

17 thoughts on “Self-Care Sunday + Awesome Dollar Store Finds

  1. Awww glad you did something to fight off that depression. And lol yeah I bought myself a new charger and it’s simple but it made me happy and not freak about my phone dying 😊 I also ended my greys series and that made me happy too


  2. This post is so refreshing, you make me want to spoil myself 😊

    well am happy that I got something to work on my face finally, you know about that already and that’s all, I should do more for myself tho…
    I will.
    Thanks for this post, it makes me want to spoil myself and be very satisfied


  3. This was such a great post!!! I’m really happy you decided to spend time for yourself this Sunday, you really deserved it!! I was pretty busy the whole week studying but I decided to dedicate sunday to friends and family, and it was sosoososo fun

    Liked by 1 person

  4. My time on Sunday was also rest day, just that I travel here and there for the sunday, to meet a few people, exhausting but feeling very great. And also suprised to meet up with a long time buddy in Church…( i din’t know it was her church). Feeling very blessed, I’m glad you took time to rest and relax… you take good care there hugs…

    soul sister

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m sure we will!! maybe who knows you either come to malaysia or i go to USA =) But it is rather costly for me to go to USA as the rates are crazy for us. our RM are pretty low in value comparing USA

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Wow, Girl, I love that you manage to spoil yourself, keep fighting the depression and spoil yourself on a Sunday! This is inspiring! Sundays are completely chill days for me. I give some much during the week, including Saturdays, that I’m usually drain on Sundays and I just recharge. I completely feel you on this article and I love that you share the awesomeness! ^^


Leave a Reply

