Detox fail and Oven Dried Strawberries!

Detox fail…. my body was just not up for it. I still mostly have no appetite but that goes for everything as well as my detox meals.. Day 1 was awful, as it ended with me forcing myself to eat my cucumber carrot salad. I was hoping to do and feel better the next day and decided to buy all the ingredients I needed for the detox week. Went to Ralphs, placed everything I needed in the cart only to remember that I left my rewards card at home😦 Grrrr. I thought about just asking for a new card but I remembered all the additional discounts and coupons I had in my card at home and I didn’t have a way to contact my husband at home so I decided to put everything back. Time wasted. Ugh.

I went home and told myself I will just do my best and eat mostly fruits and veggies (no meat) as we had food at home anyway. Sadly, after my workout and post-workout shake I was just flat-out HANGRY with no appetite. I couldn’t imagine–let alone eat what I had in the fridge so I just said fuck the detox. Why should I force myself to eat something when I just can’t? So my hubby and I decided to just pick up food from Tom’s which is literally a minute or less walk from our home. I tried out their Steak Tacos. I enjoyed it so much that I am even thinking about how good it was as I type this down. So there, detox fail..

There’s good in all of it, however. I wanted to make use of the fruits and veggies I have at home so I decided to give “oven-drying” a try! I saw a few recipes on pinterest showing how to dehydrate fruits and veggies in the oven so I went ahead and gave it a go🙂

I am making Cucumber Chips as I type–but yesterday, I made some dried strawberries!

This recipe was adapted from This Beautiful Day blog. I followed the exact same steps but here is what I did anyhow🙂

How to make oven-dried strawberries:
1. Preheat oven 200 degrees
2. Line cookie sheet with parchment paper
3. Cut off leafy tips of the strawberries and slice them in half. (I cut some in quarters due to their size)
4. Place sliced strawberries on tray lined with parchment paper. Placing strawberries with the outside part down.
5. Place in oven and bake for 2 hours. Flip, and bake again for 2 more hours.

I saw a lot of people on the blog above saying how theirs burnt or became mushy. According to the auther, when it’s mushy, it means it’s not done yet. Also, she mentioned that any temperature higher than 200 will burn the strawberries due to its sugar content.
I decided to just trust the process and became patient with it and it turned out perfectly! I ate a few of them right when I got it out og the oven, but I have a special plan for these babies that i want to use them in.

Definitely a must try! And if you end up doing it, hope you enjoyed it as much as I did🙂


2 thoughts on “Detox fail and Oven Dried Strawberries!

Leave a Reply

